Old Mutual U16 Young Sables Open Strong In Paarl

The Old Mutual U16 Young Sables team shut out Border Country Districts in a one-sided first match of their play at the Grant Khomo Week at Paarl Gimnasium in South Africa.  Led by Doug Trivella, Scott Gray and Crispen Mhike, the Young Sables continued their clean record of wins against South African Provincial side ever since Zimbabwe started participating in the Grant Khomo Weeks four years ago.

Lameck Vheriwa of Peterhouse Boys opened the scoring for Zimbabwe with just five minutes played in the encounter. Zimbabwe dominated play, winning scrums against the head more than twice in the first half. At one instance, the Old Mutual Young Sables drove a lineout maul for more than fifteen meters bullying the Border CD boys.

Patrick Chivhanga in action for the Young Sables in Paarl
Patrick Chivanga(with ball) who was named man of the match at the centre of a backline move with decoy runs during Zimbabwe’s clash against Border Country Districts on day one of the Coca-Cola Grant Khomo Week Copyright Chenje Katanda/SSN.CO.ZW

At the half, Zimbabwe was leading with a 12-0. Trivella and Gray rallied the boys at half time to improve on their play during the break.  The Young Sables responded by coming through with five more tries in the second half.  Centre Patrick Chivhanga of Kyle College was named Man of the Match for his bold exploits in Zimbabwe’s opener at the Grant Nkomo Week.

Earlier in the morning the Old Mutual U13 Young Sables opened their campaign at this year’s Craven Week with a 3-25 loss in their first match against Griquas. The half time score was 17-0, but the Young Sables delivered a much better second half to contain their opposition and get some points on the board for themselves.  Fly half Alex Whitfield scored Zimbabwe’s only points off of a penalty in the second half.

U16 Old Mutual Young Sables 2016
Tapiwanashe Muendesi, Billy Mapfumo, Trent Adams, Milton Kachecha, Ronald Mirimi, Tabonga Ngonyamo, Lameck Vheriwa, Zviko Mudhara, Daniel Aucamp, Tanaka Mpofu, Alce Melo, Michael Mhute,Munyaradzi Zivanai, Landan Farouk, Christopher Duffield, Wilbert Munda, Tinashe Hombiro, Nigel Tinaro, Takudzwa Mupariwa,Takunda Mkaratigwa, Tapiwa Maunze, Thokozani Mrewa, Patrick Chivanga, Brendan Muchepa, Kumbirai Nyevedzanai, Leon Kadzere