Junior World Cup Qualifiers Hockey Team Announced

The Hockey Association of Zimbabwe has announced the National U21 Ladies Team to compete in the Junior World Cup Qualifiers to be held at the Windhoek Hockey Stadium in Namibia from the 18th to the 28th of March, 2016.  This tournament serves as the African qualifier for the Women’s Junior Hockey World Cup which will take place in Santiago, Chile from 23 November to 4 December, 2016.

Zimbabwe last competed in the Junior Hockey World Cup in 2005, coincidentally the last time the tournament was also held in Santiago.  As a result of the exposure, a number of the Zimbabwean girls landed sports scholarships to study and play hockey at international universities.

Stephanie Campbell, formerly of Chisipite but currently based in South Africa, will captain the team.  The team includes five current high school student athletes, Amber Hinze, Simone Marchussen and Meghan Shaxson from Peterhouse Girls, Cheryl Dzapasi from Chisipite Senior and Kelly Diplock from Gateway High. Two other Peterhouse players, Hannah Synder and Nicole Taffs, are non-travelling reserves.

National Ladies U21 Junior World Cup Qualifying Team
Name School
Stephanie Campbell (Captain) formerly Chisipite
Kelly Diplock Gateway
Jessica Dollar formerly Peterhouse
Cheryl Dzapasi Chisipite
Lauren Dent formerly Hellenic
Tinayeishe Elijah formerly Arundel
Kaleigh Graham formerly Collegiate Girls High, SA
Erin Gray formerly Peterhouse
Tyler Groenweld formerly Peterhouse
Amber Hinze Peterhouse
Androniki Hiripis formerly Hellenic
Michelle Kabaira formerly Arundel
Stephanie Machauza formerly Arundel
Simone Marchussen Peterhouse
Aimee Nativel formerly Chisipite
Tyler Silke formerly Hellenic
Meghan Shaxson Peterhouse
Karla van Oudtshoorn formerly Chisipite
Non-Traveling Reserves
Kendal Revolta formerly Peterhouse
Hannah Synder Peterhouse
Nicole Taffs Peterhouse