National CHISZ Girls Basketball Team Selected

After a grueling weekend of Inter-Provincial basketball held at Dominican Convent Harare, the Association of Trust Schools selected their National Girls Basketball team. In the morning rounds, Provincial sides battled it out under the watchful eyes of selectors and national coaches.

Harare North, coached by Farai Kanyenze, was clearly the strongest side, winning all of their matches convincingly. Harare North beat Mashonaland Country Districts 29-14 in their opening match, continuing to defeat Midlands 33-8 and Bulawayo 26-18. Harare North faced their closest competition in the Harare South team, coached by Simeon Lawson, which they defeated by a narrow three point margin, after an exciting 35-32 match.

Harare North finished at the top of the Inter-Provincial table, with Bulawayo in second place, Harare South in third, MCD fourth and Midlands fifth. The selected team, under the guidance of Coach Gladys Phiri of Dominican Convent and Coach Kanyenze, will travel to a tournament in South Africa later in the year.

Zimbabwe Girls CHISZ Basketball Team 2016
Team High School
Anesu Mapfekeri Chisipite Senior
Audrey Gumbo Dominican Convent Harare
Charmaine Samudzimu Chisipite Senior
Chantel Majilana The Heritage School
Chido Siyachitemu Lomagundi College
Esther Butao Goldridge College
Evelyn Gambe Dominican Convent Harare
Fadzisai Chinyamakobvu Dominican Convent Bulawayo
Farai Kawonde Dominican Convent Harare
Fiona Chaitezvi Eaglesvale High
Juliane Widmaier Gateway High
Laura Halahala Dominican Convent Bulawayo
Laura van Schie Chisipite Senior
Michell Bhunu Midlands Christian College
Michelle Mabvudza Watershed College
Naomi Happi-Pokan Dominican Convent Harare
Nandipha Mabusa Petra High
Nobubele Ndlovu Dominican Convent Bulawayo
Nomqhele Mahlangu Dominican Convent Bulawayo
Nyasha Gwamura Kyle College
Patience Kasitomo Girls College
Patience Marimba St John’s High
Ropafadzo Shava Midlands Christian College
Samantha Ruwuya Arundel School
Sandra Fredericks Petra High
Shyline Kambarami Peterhouse Girls
Sinqobile Tagwirei Arundel School
Tapiwa Mudheredhe Watershed College
Thandeka Ngwenya Dominican Convent Bulawayo
Tinevimbo Rusike St John’s High
Trish Moyo Watershed College
Tsitsi Mavhaire Midlands Christian College