Zimbabwe 2016 Junior Rowing Squad Named

The Rowing Association of Zimbabwe (RAZ) announced their 2016 junior national rowing squad yesterday (26 May 2016).  Comprised of six boys and six girls, the squad will train with the hope of competing at the Junior World Championships set for 21-28 August 2016 in Rotterdam, Netherlands.

The six boys include three students from St George’s College – Brad Leipe, Paul Zwanikken and Stuart Duncan as well as three from Peterhouse Boys – Douglas Cox, Kenneth Raynor and Keegan Smith.

The six girls named to the squad include Sam Bibby of Peterhouse Girls and five students from Chisipite Senior School – Courtney Bass, Rebecca Compton, Bryony Hume, Jennifer Larimer and Ciara Soper.

Named Technical Director for the national squad, Rachel Davis will oversee the technical team for the crew, with Mario Cunha and Kristine Johnson rounding off the coaching staff.

Changes in world regulations set by the World Rowing Federation (FISA) stipulate that from this year forward, national level junior rowers are selected on the basis of performance and not participation in international regattas.  Junior rowers need to meet a 90% of gold medal prognostic time which would place them in a  D Final in order to compete at the Junior World Championships.